Having a (snow)Ball!

Part 2 of the Laura + Meaghan baking party extravaganza!!

IMG_0787_2

In addition to peanut butter cups, we made what I like to call coconut snowballs. They came together in a few minutes flat and my family has been raving about them for days. They’re not perfect, but in a way I find that kind of liberating. You don’t need to spend hours piping and primping. Instead, you can let the taste do the talking and simply embrace the messy. Don’t mind if I do!

IMG_2342

To be honest, coconut is not the first ingredient I reach for when making a dessert. It’s peanut butter 50% of the time and chocolate…well, 99.9999% of the time. Never fear, cocoa lovers, these little treats are dipped in just the right amount of chocolate.

IMG_0734

After making these festive desserts, coconut may be my new go-to. It has such a nice sweetness and the texture provided with a few spoonfuls of the white flaky stuff can not be replicated. My dad compared these snowballs to a Mounds bar and my mom swears they taste like coconut Easter eggs (something I have never heard of in my entire life. But hey if they taste like these coconut balls – I’m game)

IMG_2367

Fair warning – these chocolatey snowballs disappear just as quickly as real snowballs. If I were you, I’d eat a few before taking the plate to your next party.

IMG_2352

Also, can I take a minute to show you one of the coolest gifts I have EVER gotten?! The lovely Laura got me my own personalized chef jacket because she knew my dad wore one when he cooked Thanksgiving dinner!! I was floored by how thoughtful and perfect this gift was. Confession – I’m having trouble taking it off…even when I’m not baking.  Thanks again, Laura!!

IMG_2302 IMG_2373

Coconut Snowballs

Adapted from: Southern Living

Ingredients:

3 cups sweetened flaked coconut

2 cups powdered sugar (the recipe recommends sifting. We skipped this step and no one complained)

1/2  cup unsalted butter, melted

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1 teaspoon shortening

Method:

1. In a large bowl, mix the first three ingredients. Roll into bite-sized balls and place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.

2. In a microwave safe bowl, melt together the chocolate chips and shortening. I do this in 30 second intervals to prevent burning.

3. Dip the balls into the melted chocolate. Return dipped balls to the cookie sheet. Store in the refrigerator until ready to be served. Keep leftovers in an airtight container in the refrigerator. Enjoy!

IMG_2363

Let it snow!

27 thoughts on “Having a (snow)Ball!

  1. I j-u-s-t made a batch of these snowballs and oh my, coconutty goodness! They came together really quickly, and were so easy to make! I tried using my small cookie scoop, but it didn’t work too well, rolling by hand is definitely best. I had only salted butter on hand and used that, it worked out just fine. The only thing I’d change next time is to make the balls a little smaller so the coconut to chocolate is a little more balanced. I got three dozen from the recipe.

  2. I am going to try replacing shortening with unrefined coconut oil and or coconut butter and roll an almond into the middle – almond joy?

  3. Pingback: Balles de neige… à la noix de coco | D'un bonheur à l'autre

Sweet Comments

