A Winning Combo

Maybe I’m having an identity crisis. One day I’m talking about how much I love healthy desserts and the next day I’m making these beauties (spoiler alert – they are not very healthy).

IMG_0711

I like variety in life, okay?
IMG_0706

When my friend Sarah Hunter asked if I wanted to spend an afternoon baking with her, my first and obvious answer was of course! When she showed me this recipe, I realized this baking sesh was one of the best decisions I’ve made in a really long time.

IMG_0725

We made Reese’s-stuffed chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting. I’m not sure if you’ve heard, but peanut butter and chocolate are one of my favorite combinations in the whole entire world.

IMG_0704

This is – hands down – the best chocolate cake recipe around. It is so incredibly simple and also incredibly delicious. I used a very similar recipe for this cupcake post. And the frosting – oh. my. gosh. It was insane. Its taste and consistency mirrored that of peanut butter fudge. If you love peanut butter and chocolate, I promise this recipe is for you!

IMG_0741

Reese’s Cup Cupcakes

Adapted from: Crazy Little Projects

Yields: 2 dozen cupcakes

Reese’s-filled Chocolate Cupcakes

Ingredients:

1 box devil’s food cake mix

1 box (5.9 oz) chocolate pudding

1 cup sour cream

1 cup oil

4 eggs

1/2 cup water

2 teaspoons vanilla

24 miniature Reese’s cups, unwrapped

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners or spray with non-stick spray.

2. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except the peanut butter cups. I just used a spoon, however you can also use a mixer. Note – this batter will be very thick!

3. Fill cupcake liners half way with batter. Press an unwrapped Reese’s cup into the center of the batter. Cover with enough batter to fill the muffin tin 3/4 of the way full.

4. Bake in preheated oven for 18 minutes, or until the tops are just set.

5. Remove and allow to cool on a wire cooling rack.

Peanut Butter Frosting

Ingredients:

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1 cup creamy peanut butter

3-4 cups powdered sugar

1/4 cup milk

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

24 miniature Reese’s cups, unwrapped, for topping

Method:

1. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and the peanut butter until the mixture is fluffy. Add the vanilla extract and mix until incorporated.

2. Add powdered sugar, one cup at a time, until you have reached your desired consistency. Feel free to add as much or as little milk as you’d like. The powdered sugar to milk ratio simply depends on your own preferences.

3. Using a piping bag, ziploc bag with a corner cut off, or simply a knife, spread frosting on cooled cupcakes. Top with Reese’s cup and enjoy! Store leftovers in an airtight container.

IMG_0722

Happy Baking!

21 thoughts on “A Winning Combo

  1. Pingback: friday faves

  2. Pingback: Reese’s-filled Chocolate Cupcakes

  3. Pingback: Reese’s-filled Chocolate Cupcakes

  4. Can’t wait to try these! My brother is a peanut butter and chocolate nut, so these are for him..love your blog! A friend sent me here and I’m sure glad she did!
    Candi Harris

  5. I love peanut butter and chocolate and these cupcakes look wonderful . My grand kids will love them, too! Thank you so much for this recipe!!!!!!

  6. made these for the first time today – I added peanut butter chips instead of the cups to the batter……..and the frosting OMG to die for!

  7. i made these for my future daughter-in-laws shower,reece cups are her favorite, and she LOVED them…they were great and very easy

Sweet Comments

