Home Sweet Home

Saying goodbye to Dublin was quite the bittersweet farewell. On one hand, I already miss my hilarious coworkers. I miss my crowded, albeit incredibly peaceful, morning commute to work on the bustling city bus. I miss the delicious cafe right around the corner from my office that was frequented far too often than I would ever care to disclose. And finally, I miss the astonishingly friendly people who really made this the most unforgettable summer of my life.

IMG_6670

IMG_6877

On the other hand, I am so happy to be back home. I missed my family and my puppies. I felt such joy being reunited with all my clothes that didn’t make the 1 suitcase cutoff that I was actually a bit embarrassed. I missed sweet tea and warm weather and leaving the house without a rain jacket. Oh, and my oven and fully stocked kitchen – I missed those, too.

IMG_6914

No matter where in the world I am, I love Puppy Chow.

IMG_6919

I snacked on a Ziploc baggie full of the sweet treat on the plane ride from Atlanta to Dublin. In the absence of an oven, puppy chow was the first dessert I whipped up in my Irish apartment. Although I could not find Chex cereal…or chocolate chips…or “normal” peanut butter, for that matter – I did my best to make it work.

IMG_6944

Therefore, it seemed fitting that this should be the first recipe to make upon my return to the States. But this is special Puppy Chow. Nothing says America like Oreos, right?

IMG_6939

Cookies ‘n Cream Puppy Chow

Source: Sally’s Baking Addiction

Yields: 6 cups

Ingredients:

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup white chocolate chips

2 teaspoons shortening

8 Oreo cookies, broken into a fine crumb using a food processor or blender

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

6 cups Rice Chex cereal

Method:

1. In a large Ziploc bag, add 1/2 of the Oreo crumb mixture and 3/4 cup of the powdered sugar. Add the remaining Oreo crumb mixture and remaining 3/4 cup of powdered sugar to a second large Ziploc bag. Set aside.

2. Add white chocolate chips and 1 teaspoon shortening to a large microwave safe bowl. Microwave in 30 second intervals until fully melted (mine took one minute and 30 seconds).

3. Add 3 cups of the cereal directly to the melted chocolate. Toss gently to guarantee all pieces are covered in chocolate. Pour chocolate-covered cereal into one of the prepared Ziploc bags. Seal and shake vigorously for a few seconds until the cereal is covered in the sugar and cookie mixture. Empty contents of bag onto a cookie sheet covered in parchment paper.

4. Add semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 teaspoon shortening to another large microwave safe bowl. Melt in the microwave in 30 second intervals.

5. Repeat step 3 with the melted semi-sweet chocolate. Pour chocolate-covered cereal into the second Ziploc bag. Shake and empty contents onto the same parchment-lined cookie sheet.

6. Combine all of the cereal together. Serve and enjoy! Leftovers can be kept in an airtight container.

IMG_6927

Happy Baking!

Sweet Comments

