Cupcake Loving Sisters

The sisters from Georgetown Cupcake, Sophie and Katherine, are my baking idols. I admire their dedication to their passion and their willingness to take such a great risk to follow their dreams. On top of that, they make phenomenal cupcakes. Soo good. My best friend Samantha loves these sisters and their cupcakes just as much as I do. This past winter, we met them at a cookbook signing, visited Georgetown Cupcake (my first time!), and went to a cupcake decorating workshop they put on! These are some memories I will keep with me for many years to come:

In addition to loving their cupcakes, I absolutely love their cookbook. I can have a taste of my favorite cupcake even when I am home and five hours away from Georgetown. Best of all, the sisters signed my cookbook for me (and even spelled my name correctly)!

When my own sister, Laura, requested I make cupcakes for her trip to the beach, I knew I wanted to use a recipe from this book. Coconut cupcakes struck me as a perfect summer-y cupcake. I am a huge fan of coconut cake and had never made them in cupcake form.  I am so very glad I tried this recipe. Bonus: My sister loved them!

Fluffy white cake with sweet coconut flakes mixed in, incredibly smooth cream cheese frosting, and a cloud of coconut on top. They were the perfect little bite of summertime sweetness. Since the coconut covers many flaws, you don’t even need an icing bag for these babies. Just smear on the frosting and you’re good to go. How easy is that!?

Coconut Cupcakes

Adapted from: The Cupcake Diaries

YIELDS 24 CUPCAKES

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 3/4 cups sugar

2 large eggs, room temperature

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups whole milk, room temperature

1 cup shredded sweetened coconut

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place cupcake liners in your tin or spray with non-stick spray.

2. Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt into a medium bowl. This removes any lumps from the flour and helps incorporate these dry ingredients.

3. Pour milk into a liquid measuring cup, add vanilla.

4. Using a stand mixer or a handheld mixer, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. This can take 4-5 minutes. Decrease speed of the mixer to low. Add the eggs one at a time. After each egg, make sure it is completely incorporated before moving on to the next step.

5. Add 1/3 of the dry ingredients. Mix on medium speed. Add 1/3 of wet ingredients. Continue on in this alternating pattern (dry, wet, dry, wet). Make sure that everything is fully mixed in before moving on to the next step. Remember to scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl.

6. Using a rubber spatula, mix in the shredded coconut.

7. Fill baking cups half-way. Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into a cupcake comes out clean. Allow to cool completely before frosting.

Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

Adapted from: The Cupcake Diaries

Ingredients:

1/2 stick (4 tablespoons) unsalted butter, room temperature

6 oz cream cheese, room temperature

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3-4 cups powdered sugar, depending on desired consistency and sweetness

2 cups shredded sweetened coconut

Method:

1. Using a stand mixer or a handheld mixer, combine the butter, cream cheese, and vanilla on medium speed until fluffy.

2. Decrease speed to low, add powdered sugar one cup at a time. When you reach 3 cups, taste the frosting in order to decide whether or not it needs more sugar.

3. Once you have added your desired amount of sugar, beat on medium speed for 2 minutes until the frosting is light and airy.

4. Using a knife, spread 3-4 tablespoons of frosting on each cupcake. Using your palm, gently press the shredded coconut on to each cupcake. Enjoy!

P.S. Aren’t those peonies beautiful? My momma picked them from her own garden! They are one of my absolute favorite flowers and they were begging to be included in the cupcake photo shoot today. I happily obliged.

Happy Baking!

2 thoughts on “Cupcake Loving Sisters

Sweet Comments

