Plane Food

No, I’m not talking about that gross “food” they try to serve you on an airplane. Instead, this is plane food for me…

Puppy chow! Peanut butter and chocolate covered Chex cereal dusted with powdered sugar. So simple, and soo heavenly. (If you want the recipe, it’s right on the side of the Chex box!) These are the absolute best little snacks to eat while waiting in an airport or flying high in the clouds. I sprinkled a little extra sugar on these bad boys because it will be a while before I get the chance to use powdered sugar again..

Some of you may be wondering why I’m making overly indulgent plane food or why powdered sugar will no longer be a staple in my everyday life. I am leaving tomorrow to embark on an adventure of a lifetime! I will be flying to the Bahamas to spend a relaxing week sipping pina coladas by the pool and soaking up the sun with my family. Next Sunday, I will be boarding a ship and sailing for 2 months around the Mediterranean and North Africa. (!!!!) I am traveling with an amazing program called Semester at Sea. I will be visiting Spain, Italy, Croatia, Turkey, Greece, Portugal, and Morocco! Honestly, I can barely contain my excitement. The packing for an entire summer + a week’s vacation, on the other hand…not so fun.

One thing I will definitely miss while I am gone is the opportunity to bake at the drop of a hat. Unfortunately, they did not install an oven in my room. Therefore, I will not be able to post recipes as often as I have this past month. However, I still plan on utilizing this blog. For starters, I will have the pleasure of taking THREE cooking classes while abroad!! I will be learning classic Italian, Portuguese, and Greek recipes that I would love to share with you! Additionally, I will be joining a paella tour while in Barcelona.

Believe it or not, this is actually a study abroad program. As much as Id like to take every waking moment exploring my new floating home and taking in exotic sights, I will actually have class everyday at sea. However, I will never be able to complain about this because I am taking, hands down, the coolest classes ever. I am enrolled in a Global Studies class, an acting class, and…an anthropology class on FOOD, gender, and culture! How cool is that?!

So even though I won’t be able to provide you with dessert recipes while abroad, I would love to share my tasty travels with you! I will do my best to post about my culinary discoveries and experiences as often as I can.

Farewell, America!

P.S. If you would like to follow my day-to-day blog about my study abroad experience, feel free to check out my travel blog.

Sweet Comments

