Football Foodie

Hello lovely followers and friends,

Long time, no talk!! I am finally back in the States, settled into my new apartment, and ready to bake up a storm. I had the most amazing summer of my life, but I am definitely happy to be back at one of my favorite places in the world – UVa!

This past weekend marked a very important day for any Wahoo. The first home football game! In Charlottesville, this is a bit like a holiday. Boys dress up in their preppiest bow ties and girls don their favorite sundresses and pearls. As much as I love football, I honestly get more excited about the dressing up and (of course) eating.

Tailgating is one of my favorite ways to spend a Saturday afternoon. I share food and laughter with my favorite people – my parents, siblings, and roommates. My parents are especially adorable and excited about tailgates. Both graduates of UVa, they truly know how to celebrate a home football game. My best friend Samantha and I share my parents’ enthusiasm. Samantha and I provide an array of desserts and appetizers for each tailgate. This week, Samantha made out of this world stuffed jalapenos, we both helped make spinach dip in a bread bowl, and I was responsible for dessert.

In my opinion, tailgating food needs to be delicious, easy to make, and easy to eat. For this tailgate, ease was of the utmost importance. Due to the altogether craziness of the first week of classes, I wanted the most simple dessert recipe to make for Saturday’s game. Icing cupcakes seemed too time-consuming. Cutting bars would be too much effort. (perhaps you could say I was a tiiiiny bit lazy this weekend…only a tiny bit, though). Since I couldn’t pinpoint a particular recipe in my repertoire I wanted to recreate, I decided to create a new one!

Insert these tasty little babies. A creamy peanut butter cheesecake filling stuffed with melty chocolate and peanut butter cups nestled on top of a crunchy Oreo crust. They were soo simple to make. Honestly, you can prepare and bake these delicious treats in under 30 minutes. Bonus, everyone at the tailgate loved them! I hope your guests and fellow football foodies will enjoy these just as much!

The Good Ol’ Mini Peanut Butter Cheesecake

Source: Meaghan’s Own Creation

Yields: 18 individual cheesecakes

Ingredients:

18 regular Oreos

2 packages of plain cream cheese, softened

2 large eggs

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

3/4 cups granulated sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 bag of miniature (unwrapped) Reese’s peanut butter cups

Method:

1. Line muffin tins with cupcake liners or spray with non-stick spray. Preheat over to 350 degrees F.

2. Place one Oreo in the bottom of each cupcake liner.

3. Using a stand mixer or a handheld mixer, beat the cream cheese on medium speed for 1 minute until light and fluffy.

4. Add the eggs one at a time. Make sure the first egg is incorporated fully before adding the second.

5. Add the peanut butter, sugar, and vanilla extract. Beat on medium speed for 1-2 minutes, or until the mixture is fully combined.

6. Fold in peanut butter cups with a rubber spatula.

7. Spoon mixture on top of each Oreo. Smooth tops with a spoon or a spatula.

8. Bake in preheated oven for 15-17 minutes, or until the tops of the cheesecake have set. Cool on a cooling rack for 30 minutes. Refrigerate until ready to serve. Enjoy!

Happy Tailgating!

2 thoughts on “Football Foodie

Sweet Comments

