A Few of My Favorite Things

Honestly, I love a lot of things. Blooming flowers at the start of spring, Sunday brunch with my family, caramel apples with baby M&Ms. The list goes on.

Want to know one of my absolute favorite things in the world? Birthdays!!! And I’m not just talking about my own birthday (although that is a pretty awesome day!) I just genuinely love celebrating the birthdays of others. I love picking unique gifts, baking birthday cakes, and just making people feel like a princess/prince on their own special day. I just love them.

Luckily for me, two of the my most favorite people celebrated birthdays this week! My wonderful roommate, Hunni, and my awesome brother, Michael, had birthdays on the 13th and the 14th. I happily volunteered to make tasty treats for both of them!

When searching for b-day recipes, another absolute favorite came to mind. ICE CREAM! I ate so many different ice cream varieties this summer in the Mediterranean. Gelato made up 80% of my diet while in Italy and Croatia. Greek frozen yogurt completely won over my heart while in Athens. Basically, I am a woman obsessed with all things ice cream.

For whatever reason, ice cream cakes just spoke to me this week. Mikey and Hunni were both treated to these chilly desserts to celebrate their big days. I will post Hunni’s in a few days. But for today – Michael’s cake takes center stage.

Ice cream sammies, Cool Whip, crumbled Oreos, and homemade hot fudge sauce. Go ahead and act like ALL of those don’t sound absolutely delicious and decadent. Side note – calories don’t count on birthdays. This is just common sense. So throw any inhibition out the window and celebrate a loved one’s birthday with love, chocolate, and free calories! Hooray!

Cookies ‘n Cream Ice Cream Sammie Cake

Adapted from: www.realsimple.com

Ingredients:

8 oz Cool Whip

24 ice cream sandwiches

crushed Oreos (I used about 20 total)

hot fudge sauce (I made mine homemade – recipe to come soon! You can also use store-bought)

Method:

1. Line an 8×8 metal pan with parchment paper or wax paper. Make sure the paper hangs over the ends to ensure an easy removal.

2. Spread half of the Cool Whip on the bottom of the pan. When inverted, this will be the top!

3. Lay down half of the ice cream sandwiches. You will probably need to cut the bars in order for them to fit properly.

4. Spread about half of the remaining Cool Whip over the layer of ice cream sandwiches. Sprinkle with half of the crushed Oreos.

5. Place the remainder of the ice cream sandwiches on top of the Oreos.

6. Cover with foil. Place in the freezer for at least a few hours, or up to a few days.

7. When ready to serve, use the parchment/wax paper to lift the cake out of the pan. I placed a plate directly on the top of the pan, then flipped everything over.

8. Use the last of the Cool Whip to cover the sides of the cake. Drizzle with hot fudge and top with remaining crushed Oreos. Slice and enjoy! Freeze any leftovers.

Happy Birthday, Mikey!

3 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Things

Sweet Comments

