Study Break

Sometimes work gets so hard that I forget about the important things. Like spending time with family, baking, and covering anything/everything possible in sprinkles.

This past weekend, I took a break from my work to remind myself about the important things. I am blessed to have my sister and one of my brothers living in Cville, as well. It is so nice to be so close whenever a moment arises when I just want to see my siblings. Orrr go to all-you-can-eat taco night…somewhat of a tradition my siblings and I maintain each Wednesday.

In addition to taco night, we have started a lovely tradition of family dinners each Sunday. My sister and her boyfriend kindly provide delicious meals for my brother and me. As a college student, that’s a pretty sweet deal. In return for the tasty homemade food, I normally offer to bring desserts. (Shocker, right?!)

I admit that I have been slacking a bit on my duties. This week, however, I was determined to not leave my apartment without a sweet treat in tow. I happily left my confusing Econ homework alone for a while in order to make family friendly desserts.

Due to my recent neglect of the grocery store, I had to work with what I had. Pretzel thins and chocolate simply jumped out at me. Sprinkles make everything in life better/happier, so I knew those would be added, as well. Then I saw a jar of peanut butter and the rest is history.

Unfortunately, my sister had a migraine and we had to cancel family dinner this past week. I read her text message mere minutes after dipping the last peanut butter pretzel sandwich into melted chocolate. It was a sad day, indeed. But never fear, my lovely roommates appreciated them just as much as my siblings would have! The apartment polished off the entire bowl in under 48 hours. I knew there was a reason I liked these girls 🙂

Better-Than-Studying Chocolate, PB, and Pretzel Sandwiches

Source: Meaghan’s Own

Yields: However many you’d like to make!

Ingredients:

Pretzel thins (I used 30 and made 15 sandwiches)

Peanut butter (Again, I used probably 1/2 a cup, but this recipe just begs to be manipulated based on the size of the group)

Semi-sweet chocolate chips

Sprinkles

Method:

1. Lay out a piece of wax paper. Spread enough peanut butter on a pretzel to allow another pretzel to stick. Make as many sandwiches as you’d like.

2. Melt your chocolate. I used the microwave. You could also use a double-boiler.

3. Dip your pretzel sandwiches in the chocolate. I just dipped one side, but you are more than welcome to dip the whole thing.

4. Cover in sprinkles. Allow to cool for at least an hour (or until the chocolate has hardened.) Place in a bowl and serve! Keep any leftovers in an airtight container. Enjoy!

Happy Procrastinating!

Sweet Comments

