Picking the Perfect Pie

This past weekend was one of the best I’ve had in a very long time. I went apple picking with amazing college women and middle school girls, my best friends from home came to visit Cville, my parents also came to town, I was finally able to tailgate and watch a home football game again (after 3 weeks), I ate delicious food, and I was back in the kitchen baking. Talk about the epitome of a perfect fall weekend.

I am a part of an amazing program called YWLP – the Young Women Leaders Program. I was a Big Sister to a 7th grade girl last year. This year, I am a facilitator to 7 Big and Little pairs. Pictured below is my wonderful co-facilitator – she makes the whole experience even better!

Instead of our normal group meeting this week, we spiced things up a bit. We went apple picking! There is an orchard in Cville that I have visited quite a few times in the last 2 years. I just love it up there. I knew fresh picked apples would make the perfect dessert for this weekend’s tailgate.

After a quick search on FoodGawker, I found the recipe that was made for me. Individual Salted Caramel Apple Pies. Yes, such a perfect thing does exist.

Salted caramel is one of my favorite things in the world. I love the combination of salty and sweet. My all-time favorite drink from Starbucks is a salted caramel hot chocolate. I am legitimately addicted. Therefore, I knew these pies would be perfect.

Additionally, the idea of individualized pies was perfect for a tailgate setting. No need for knives, plates, or forks. Sounds good to me!

I used the apples that were harvestable at the orchard – Jonagolds. Honestly, I had never heard of them before this weekend. But they were great! If you cannot find these, I know Gala and Pink Lady apples work great, as well. But since it’s apple season, I don’t think you could go wrong with anything.

The tailgate was great, the desserts were great, the company was great, and the game was great (until we lost). Overall, I’d say the weekend was a sweet success.

Individual Salted Caramel Apple Pies

Adapted From: Just A Taste

Yields: 16 mini pies

Ingredients:

2 boxes of refrigerated pie crust (4 crusts total)

1 large apple (see note above about preferred variety), peeled and chopped into corn-sized pieces

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon fresh squeezed lemon juice

1/8 cup sugar

1 teaspoon all-purpose flour

4 store-bought caramels, diced

A sprinkle of sea salt

1 large egg

1 tablespoon water

Sugar in the raw for dusting

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with a silicone sheet or parchment paper.

2. In a medium bowl, mix apples, lemon juice, flour, sugar, and cinnamon.

3. Unroll a pie crust. Using a circular cookie cutter, cut out as many circles as possible. I was able to cut out 8 per pie crust.

4. Place half of the crusts on the lined cookie sheet. Top each pie crust circle with about a tablespoon of the apple mixture. Cover with a few pieces of caramel. Sprinkle with sea salt.

5. Place another pie crust circle on top. Using a fork, seal the top crust to the bottom. Using a paring knife, slice vents on the top of each pie.

6. In a small bowl, beat together the egg and the water. Using a pastry brush, brush the tops of each pie. Sprinkle with the coarse sugar.

7. Bake in pre-heated oven for around 15 minutes, or until pies are golden brown. Allow to cool on a cooling rack. Keep in an airtight container and enjoy!

Happy Fall!

21 thoughts on “Picking the Perfect Pie

  1. Could you tell me where the apple orchard is in Cville? Ive lived there most of my life and never knew there was one there! And do you know if theyre still allowing apples to be picked? ps- love you blog by the way! Wonderful pictures and recipes!!! Thank you!
    Hugs,
    Kimberly

  2. Do you have a Kilwin’s Chocolates and Ice Cream near you? I am also a huge salted caramel fan, and they do sea salt caramel and chocolate fudge, and the best ice cream ever, sea salt caramel ice cream,

  3. Pingback: LemonDrop.US

  4. Pingback: Caramel Apple Recipes

  5. Pingback: Individual Salted Caramel Apple Pies - Joybx

  6. Pingback: Individual Salted Caramel Apple Pies | Pie Recipes, Pie Crust, Tips & Tricks and latest Trends

  7. Pingback: Individual Salted Caramel Apple Pies

  8. Pingback: Salted Caramel Apple Pies - Made From Pinterest

  9. Pingback: Salted Caramel Apple Pies - I'm Bored, Let's Go...

  10. Made these today and they are delicious!! I am thinking of doing assorted mini pies for a large party we are having this summer. Do you think these can be prepared ahead, frozen and then baked the day before our event? Have you tried an other fillings?

Sweet Comments

