Happy Mistakes

Fall is here!! It makes me so happy that I often catch myself squealing in pure excitement. The changing temperature means skirts with tights, crisp walks to class, and every possible excuse to bake with apples. Excuse me while I do a happy dance in a pile of leaves.

This recipe utilized more of the thousands of apples picked at Carter’s Mountain with my YWLP group last week. Truly, these apples are the sweet gift that keep on giving. I was in charge of dessert for our YWLP Appreciation Dinner. Each Little sister invited a woman in their life who they truly appreciate. We celebrated one another’s company with a delicious meal featuring baked chicken, the cheesiest macaroni and cheese I have ever laid eyes on, and sweet baked apples.

When envisioning the dessert I would bring, I first thought of apple pies. But…too many apples + not enough pie pans + no ingredients for pie crust = change of plans. Then the recipe was supposed to be an apple crisp. I topped the apples with a mixture of brown sugar and butter. I took the apples out of the oven and realized the entire crisp mixture simply melted into a sweet caramel sauce for the apples to swim in. For a second I felt disappointed over this mistake of a dessert. Then I looked down and realized the apples were swimming in a pool of sweet caramel and realized life was good.

So who said mistakes always had to be bad? It’d be a mistake not to make this dessert for your next gathering!

Warm Baked Apples

Source: Meaghan’s Own Mistake Creation

Ingredients:

5 cups apples – peeled, cored, and sliced thinly

1 1/2 cups dark brown sugar

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons unsalted butter – chopped into small pieces

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl and transfer to an ungreased 13×9 baking dish.

3. Bake uncovered for 35-45 minutes or until apples are tender.

4. Serve warm over vanilla ice cream and enjoy! Keep any leftovers in an airtight container.

Happy Baking!

Sweet Comments

