Momma Betty’s Birthday!!

My momma is one of my best friends in the entire world. Some things are just not as fun to do without my mom around – like going to the movie theater and having just popcorn for dinner or watching Say Yes to the Dress religiously on Friday evenings.

When thinking about what treat to make for her big day, I had a few options. I could give her a pile of buttercream frosting on a plate and I’m pretty sure she’d be perfectly content. And I sometimes wonder where I got my sweet tooth…

My mom is obsessed with York Peppermint Patties. She looooves them. Basically, she feels the same way towards chocolate and peppermint that I feel towards chocolate and peanut butter. When I found this recipe on FoodGawker, I knew I had found a winner.

I brought these babies to the tailgate this weekend and they passed the test. My favorite part was how the fudgey cookie almost resembled a decadent brownie. My mom’s favorite part was how the peppermint melted all over the cookie and formed a chewy, minty edge. All in all, they were perfectly easy to eat and wonderfully delicious!

Think she agrees?

Peppermint Patty Fudge Cookies

Source: Sally’s Baking Addiction

Yields: 18 large cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup + 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

8 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, chopped

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

5 tablespoons unsalted butter at room temperature

3/4 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup white sugar

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

12 snack size peppermint patties, chopped

Method:

1. Preheat over to 350 degrees F.

2. Sift the first 4 ingredients into a medium bowl. Set aside.

3. Melt the chopped chocolate on high in a microwave safe bowl. First, microwave for a minute. Stir, and microwave in 15 second intervals until completely melted.

4. Using a stand mixer or a handheld mixer, cream the butter for about a minute. Add the two types of sugar and beat until incorporated. Add eggs and vanilla. Beat on medium speed for about 30 seconds, or until all the ingredients are fully incorporated.

5. Add the melted chocolate in a slow stream and mix on a low speed. When all the chocolate is added, slowly add the dry ingredients. Beat until just incorporated. Stir in chocolate chips with a rubber spatula.

6. Let dough rest in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

7. After the dough has chilled, form 1 to 2 inch balls on a cookie sheet. Press chopped peppermint patties on top of each dough ball. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until the cookies are just set. Do not overbake!

8. Allow to cool on a cooling rack. Store in an air-tight container and enjoy!

Happy Birthday, Momma!

Sweet Comments

