Tricks < Treats

Let’s face it, Halloween is awesome. You get to dress up as something you’ve always wanted to be and people give you candy. For free. All you have to do is utter three simple words. “Trick or treat!”

It’s an interesting phrase, because really who in their right mind would prefer a trick over a treat? Not this girl.

Growing up, Halloween was one of my absolute favorite holidays. Weeks before October 31, my mom, siblings, and I would start working on treat bags. In my neighborhood, we get tons of trick-or-treaters. I’m talking a couple hundred. My mom has never been the type of person who simply throws a bunch of candy into a bowl and then has kids choose one piece. Oh no. Trick-or-treaters at my house get treat bags packed with meticulously calculated and divided chocolates, smarties, and lollipops. The event of making goody bags takes an entire evening and an entire assembly line. Halloween is obviously important at my house.

The neighborhood I grew up in is infamous for giving out the best candy. Hordes and mini vans packed with creatively dressed children parade into our neighborhood each Halloween. And it’s no surprise why. People give out pretty sweet treats. I have such wonderful memories going trick-or-treating with my dad as a child. I would run to the doors, sweetly recite the magic line, and rush back to my awaiting father with my goodies. Most kids fill one pumpkin candy bucket and call it a day. Please. My wonderful father carried a pillowcase around…to carry the rest of my candy that didn’t currently fit in my cute pumpkin bucket. I literally came home with a pillowcase full of candy.

No wonder Halloween has always been one of my favorites.

This recipe reminds me of Halloween and the excess of sugar and candy that I associate with the holiday. I used Butterfingers because that’s what the recipe called for and I also love them. Feel free to use any leftover Halloween goodies in the middle of these delicious cheesecake bars. They are decadent, sinful, and absolutely delicious.

Isn’t that what Halloween’s all about?

Candy-Stuffed Cookie Dough Cheesecake Bars

Adapted From: Bakers Royale

Ingredients:

For Cookie Dough Layer:

3/4 cup (1.5 sticks) unsalted butter, melted

3/4 cup packed dark brown sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup mini chocolate chips

For Cheesecake Layer:

12 oz cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup white sugar

1 egg

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Additional Ingredients:

6 Butterfinger candy bars, or other candy of your choice

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Method:

1. Preheat over to 375 degrees F. Line a 13×9 baking dish with foil and spray with non-stick spray.

2. Using an electric mixer, cream together the melted butter and the brown sugar for the cookie dough layer. Add eggs and vanilla and beat until just incorporated. Add flour and beat on low speed until the mixture is completely incorporated. Add chocolate chips and mix with a rubber spatula. Put in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.

3. In a medium bowl, add all ingredients for the cheesecake layer and beat for 2-3 minutes, or until light and fluffy.

4. Spread 3/4 of the chilled cookie dough into the prepared pan. Cover with the candy bars. Pour cheesecake mixture over candy and spread evenly. Dot remaining cookie dough on top and swirl with cheesecake mixture. Sprinkle extra chocolate chips on top.

5. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until fully set. Allow to cool for 15 minutes. Remove from pan and slice. Keep bars in airtight container in the refrigerator. Enjoy!

Trick or Treat!

4 thoughts on “Tricks < Treats

Sweet Comments

