Cheerin’ Up with Chocolate

This past week might possibly go down as the worst of the entire semester. A few homework assignments and two exams made me an irritable and stressed out college student.

However, I am lucky enough to have each and every Friday off. After 6 pm each Thursday, a wave of relief washes over me as I realize my blissful three day weekend is about to begin. After this week, the wave of relief was more like a tsunami.

The weekend is a time for me to de-stress. After catching up on Real Housewives and checking for any fun pins on Pintereset, I moved on to my next relaxation tool of choice. FoodGawker. Should I be ashamed of this? …of course not.

I came across a delicious Monster Cookie recipe. Confession – I have never made monster cookies before. I have, however, made monster cookie dough dip and eaten copious amounts of it. Once again, I question if I should be ashamed of my life choices.

…Nahhh.

This recipe was great because I had all the ingredients on hand. Additionally, I only had to dirty up one bowl! I whipped up a batch of these delicious and chewy treats in under 20 minutes. My roommates, who each also had killer exams this week, and I dug into the plate of  warm cookies. Nothing makes you forget about an awful Econ exam quite like a warm chocolate, peanut butter, and oatmeal cookie. Dig in!

Monster Cookies

Adapted from: Diana Dishes

Yields: 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1/3 cup white sugar

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 large egg

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups quick-cooking oats

2/3 teaspoon baking soda

1/3 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/3 cup M&Ms

Method:

1. Preheat over to 350 degrees F. Cover a cookie sheet with foil, parchment paper, or non-stick spray.

2. Using a hand-held or stand mixer, beat peanut butter, both sugars, and butter in a large bowl until light and fluffy.

3. Add egg and vanilla. Beat on medium speed until fully incorporated, about 20 seconds.

4. Using a rubber spatula, stir in the oats and the baking soda.

5. Finally, stir in chocolate chips and M&Ms.

6. Drop rounded tablespoons of the dough onto the prepared cookie sheets. Feel free to press a few extra M&Ms on the tops of the cookies to make them extra fancy.

7. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Allow to cool a few minutes on the cookie sheet before transferring to a wire cooling wrack. Enjoy!

Happy De-Stressing!

2 thoughts on “Cheerin’ Up with Chocolate

  1. There you go again- peanut butter, chocolate with oatmeal! Lol Crazy about the first two (runs in the family) and love the oatmeal. Headed to the store to pick up some M&M’s and mini choc chips.

Sweet Comments

