Sugar and Spice

Apple pie is a staple Thanksgiving dessert at my house.

For years, my grandmother was in charge of the apple pies. However, this all changed after my first year in college.

After basically going through baking withdrawals over the course of my first semester (curse you, kitchen-less dorms!!), I was more than eager to bake for my family. Additionally, I became obsessed with apple picking my first year in Charlottesville.

The stage was set for the torch to be passed on. For the past three years, I have happily made multiple apple pies made with hand-picked apples.

Although they are coming from a different kitchen, they are still a hit each and every Thanksgiving.

The Classic Apple Pie

Adapted From: Pillsbury 

Ingedients:

1 package store-bought pie crust

6 cups apples – peeled, cored, and thinly sliced (I used Pink Ladies)

3/4 cup sugar

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

pinch of salt

1 tablespoon lemon juice

egg wash (1 egg white + 1 tablespoon water, beaten together)

sugar in the raw for sprinkling

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 425 Degrees F.

2. Place one pie crust in the bottom of a pie dish.

3. In a large bowl, mix apples, sugar, flour, cinnamon, salt, and lemon juice. Pour into prepared dish. Top with second pie crust. Crimp crusts together.

4. Make vents on top of pie. I used cookie cutters, however a knife will work perfectly fine.

5. Brush pie with egg wash mixture and sprinkle with sugar.

6. Cook for about 20 minutes. Lower temperature to 350 degrees F. Continue baking for 20 more minutes.

Note – keep an eye on your crust. If it seems to be browning too quickly, cover just the crust with aluminum foil.

7. Allow to cool and enjoy!

Happy Pie Baking!

Sweet Comments

