Christmas Cups

Christmas season is officially here! dhdbahbgfl so excited.

IMG_2242

Finals sometimes make me forget the fact that my favorite holiday in the world is just around the corner. As I signed the honor pledge on my last final exam of the semester, I knew it was time to embrace all things red, green, and sparkly.

IMG_2234

I came home to such a festively decorated home!! I love it!

IMG_2309 IMG_2317

New ornament!

IMG_2325

My holiday baking for the season started with one of my favorite people – my wonderful friend Laura! We met on Semester at Sea this summer and I have been so lucky to see her a few times this semester. She is a Cville native so I get the pleasure of seeing her each time she comes home! I spent my last day in Cville baking up a Christmas storm with her. (and the cutest baking assistant ever – Maury!)

IMG_0797

On the menu – peanut butter cups and coconut balls (and a chocolate peppermint cookies/brownie experiment that did not go as planned…woops!) First, I will share the peanut butter cup recipe.

IMG_0783_2

These. Are. Heavenly. I am a diehard peanut butter cup fan. If there is chocolate and peanut butter involved, count me in.

IMG_0711

These came together surprisingly fast and might even be better than the original. I loved dressing them up a bit for the season with a few fun sprinkles!

IMG_0724

I suggest you kick off the holiday season with this delicious dessert! They are easy, adorable, and a Christmas classic that is almost impossible to resist. Enjoy!

IMG_2238

Homemade Peanut Butter Cups

Adapted from: Taste of Home

Ingredients:

1 cup creamy peanut butter

2 tablespoons of unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

5 milk chocolate candy bars, broken into pieces

sprinkles

Method:

1. First, you will need to incorporate the peanut butter, butter, sugar, and salt. This can be done with an electric mixer, a VitaMix, or by hand. Incorporate until the mixture is light and creamy.

2. In a medium bowl, add 1/4 cup of the peanut butter mixture to the chocolate. Microwave or heat over a double broiler until completely melted.

3. Line a mini muffin tin with paper wrappers. Add enough chocolate to cover the bottom of each cup. Scoop about a teaspoon of the peanut butter mixture on top. Cover with remaining chocolate.

4. Smooth the cups with a knife or an offset spatula. Cover with sprinkles.

5. Freeze for at least 30 minutes, or until set. Remove from pan and enjoy! Leftovers should be kept in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

IMG_2255

Happy Holiday Baking!

Sweet Comments

