The End of the World

So the world was supposed to end today. Wanna know how I spent my last day? Eating homemade caramel popcorn and watching snowflakes fall to the ground, of course.

IMG_2587

I associate caramel popcorn with the holiday season. I remember being so excited when my dad would bring home gigantic tins of the sweet and salty treat his patients would bring him as a Christmas gift.

IMG_2548

I also remember when I got my braces put on in 7th grade. The instant I got them on, I reviewed the “do not eat” list of foods and did a mental calculation of the exact month my braces would come off. I realized I would have my braces on for Christmas. I remember being so upset and actually complaining to my mom that caramel AND popcorn were both on the no eat list. How would I function without caramel popcorn around Christmas?! To me, that was the end of the world.

IMG_2555

Even at the ripe old age of 12, I knew the importance of caramel corn.

IMG_2561

To celebrate the supposed end of the world, I will spend my evening at a Christmas party with some of my favorite people from high school while wearing a wonderfully tacky sweater and toting a huge bowl of homemade caramel popcorn. Now tell me, is there a better way to spend my last day?

IMG_2599

I didn’t think so.

Homemade Caramel Popcorn

Source: Baked Perfection

Ingredients:

4 bags buttered and salted microwave popcorn, popped (with unpopped kernels removed)

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter

2 cups packed light brown sugar

1/2 cup light corn syrup

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Method:

1. Place popcorn in a turkey roasting pan coated with nonstick spray. Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.

2. In a medium pot, melt the butter, sugar, and corn syrup together over low heat. Once the mixture comes to a boil, continue boiling for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

3. Take mixture off of heat. Add baking soda and vanilla extract. Pour caramel over the popcorn and stir.

4. Bake for 45 minutes, stirring with a spatula every 15 minutes. Wait to cool and enjoy!

IMG_2563

Happy Baking!

Sweet Comments

