Happy Day, Happy Man

My dad is one of my favorite people in the world.

IMG_0268

He is always – yes, I mean always – in a good mood. I’m not sure how that’s even humanly possible, but my pappa has somehow found the secret to happiness. A few reasons I love him:

He loves UVa as much as I do.

IMG_0864

He does cool things – like SWIM WITH DOLPHINS.

IMG_8469

He’s a sharp dresser (& obviously my style icon)

IMG_1313

In addition to some sweet style advice, my dad has passed on to me a very important passion – a love for birthdays! Every year when January 19 rolls around, my dad gets as giddy as a small child on Christmas. He looooves his birthday. When my parents decided to come to Cville for a belated birthday celebration, I knew I had to make him something extra special.

IMG_0201

Due to scheduling conflicts with busy family members, we decided to have a potluck-style tailgate birthday bash before an early afternoon basketball game. Having to shift the celebration to an earlier hour forced me to be a bit creative with my culinary contribution (I know I knowww, I’d be perfectly content eating a cake covered with buttercream frosting for breakfast, too. For some reason I feel like the rest of my family would not have been too keen on this idea…)

IMG_0218

I realized I could make a dish that was equal parts fun, sweet, and covered in sprinkles while still sticking with the breakfast theme! Enter cinnamon roll lollipops with vanilla dipping sauce.

IMG_0258

These were delicious, adorable, and incredibly simple to put together. They are perfect for all birthday parties – no matter what age the birthday boy is celebrating! 🙂

IMG_0261

Cinnamon Roll Lollipops

Source: Meaghan’s Own

Yields: 18 pops

Ingredients:

1 seamless crescent roll dough (you can use the pre-sliced variety, you will just need to pinch the slits closed to form one continuous piece of dough)

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

1 1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with foil or parchment paper. Spray with nonstick spray.

2. Unroll the crescent dough. Using a pastry brush, brush the melted butter onto the dough. Sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon on top.

3. The dough will be a rectangular shape. Cut the dough in half to form two equal sized squares. Roll each square into a very tight pinwheel. (This step was added to make the rolling process more manageable.)

4. Slice each log into 9 mini cinnamon rolls. Insert a popsicle stick into the seam of each roll to ensure it stays together in the baking process.

5. Place lollipops on the prepared cookie sheet. Bake in preheated oven for 8-10 minutes, or until golden brown.

Vanilla Dipping Sauce

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

powdered sugar – 3/4 to 1 full cup, depending on desired consistency and sweetness

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons milk

Method:

1. Whisk all ingredients together in a small bowl. Feel free to add more powdered sugar (for a thicker sauce) or more milk (for a thinner sauce)

2. Transfer to serving bowl and top with sprinkles, if desired. Pair with lollipops and enjoy!

IMG_0225

Happy Birthday, Daddio!

Sweet Comments

