Back in the (Gluten-Free) Groove

Do you guys remember me? I’m the girl who really loves sprinkles and who occasionally makes meals out of ice cream and/or corn flakes? Okay, I’m glad you remember me now 🙂 I am back to baking – I promise I haven’t forgotten about you all!

IMG_0928

I have been itching to bake recently. A Memorial Day picnic at my friend Laura’s house was the perfect excuse to get back in my tiny apartment kitchen. After discovering she now follows a gluten free-diet, I was determined to find a recipe that was both delicious and free of gluten.

IMG_0913

I came across a simple coconut macaroon recipe. After making these coconut confections with Laura this past winter, I knew she was a fan of the main ingredient. With the added tartness of fresh raspberries and a generous drizzle of semi-sweet chocolate, these were some of the tastiest coconut macaroons I have ever made or tasted.

IMG_0914

As an added bonus, these gluten-free desserts were so incredibly simple to make. As you know, I have (sadly) taken quite a break from baking. Let’s just say I was a bit rusty in the kitchen. It might have taken me a few tries (and a few eggs) before I could even separate the whites from the yolks. Even with my struggles, these macaroons turned out perfectly. Trust me – they are foolproof!

IMG_0921

Raspberry Coconut Macaroons with a Chocolate Drizzle

Adapted from: Smitten Kitchen

Yields: About 3 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

1 bag (14 oz) sweetened flaked coconut

2/3 cup granulated sugar

3 egg whites

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

6 oz fresh raspberries, washed and dried extremely well

1 semi-sweet chocolate bar, or 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Method:

1. Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In a food processor, blend the coconut for a minute. Add sugar, blend for another minute. Add egg white, vanilla extract, and salt. Blend for another minute.

3. Add raspberries to the food processor. Pulse just enough times for the berries to break up, but not enough for the mixture to be completely incorporated. There should be both pink and white batter. I pulsed mine about 12 times.

4. Using a tablespoon, scoop the batter onto the prepared pan. Be sure to include both the white and pink batter in each scoop. Your cookies can be arranged close together as they do not spread while baking.

5. Bake in preheated oven for 25-28 minutes or until the tops look slightly toasted. Allow to cool completely on the cookie sheet.

6. Using either the microwave or a double broiler, melt the chocolate according to package directions. Drizzle the chocolate over the cooled macaroons. Enjoy!

IMG_0916

Happy (ohmygoshI’msoexcitedtobe) Baking!

6 thoughts on “Back in the (Gluten-Free) Groove

  1. I may or may not have been checking your blog every couple of days to see if you posted anything new…. PS will there not be any posts while you’re in Dublin?!

  2. Mine were not even in the oven 10mins before the bottoms burnt!!:( they were horrible!!:/ must be something I did tho! Because the tops were tummy! Haha:D

Sweet Comments

