Just Keep Baking

This was basically my life yesterday. Honestly, everything I tried to make was a complete failure. I first attempted to make scones. What a sad, sad result. Like I-need-to-take-these-out-of-the-oven-halfway-through-and-throw-them-in-the-trashcan-before-someone-sees-them-and-judges-me sad result. So much wasted time. So many wasted ingredients. I was not happy about it.

IMG_1508
Rather than give up on baking completely for the day, I decided a chocolate and peanut butter cookie with 6 ingredients should be easy enough. This will be the perfect recipe to reinstate my baking confidence, I thought. I was sadly mistaken. My batter became a strange oil-y glob. At this point I decided to read the reviews for the recipe and realized everyone who used Jif peanut butter experienced the same sad outcome. If only I had read this before I used almost an entire jar of peanut butter. I was on the verge of tears.

IMG_6982

I decided I might as well try to remedy the recipe. I added an extra egg and a half cup of flour. The batter still didn’t look 100% right. I debated even adding the chocolate chips and mini Reese’s because, come on, I draw the line when it comes to wasting chocolate. I put the cookie dough in the refrigerator and out of sight, promptly put my pajamas on, and watched Scandal in my bed (It may or may not have been 2 pm). Needless to say, I was feeling a bit discouraged about my baking abilities.

This morning, I decided I might as well bake the cookies since I’d already invested so much effort and chocolate. I put them in the oven fully expecting an equally sad sight as the scones from yesterday.

IMG_6960

I took them out of the oven. They were glorious. They were chewy and melty and peanut buttery and exactly what I needed after a hard baking day. I’m not sure if I should thank the refrigerator or the added flour. Whatever it was, it worked.

IMG_6964

Next challenge – how to remove all the melty chocolate from the countertops…and my hands…and my camera…

IMG_6966

Ultimate Chocolate and Peanut Butter Cookies

Adapted from: Averie Cooks

Yields: 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup creamy peanut butter

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup chocolate – either chocolate chunks, chocolate chips, mini Reese’s cups, or a combination! I used half semi-sweet chocolate chips and half mini Reese’s cups

-Optional Add-ins-

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 more egg

Method:

1. Using a stand mixer or a handheld mixer, beat the peanut butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla on medium-high speed for 3-5 minutes, or until fluffy. If your dough becomes fluffy, skip to step 3.

2. For me, my dough never became fluffy. Instead, it became oily. If yours does this, as well, add the flour and the extra egg. Beat on medium speed for 2-3 minutes, or until fully incorporated.

3. Add the baking soda and chocolate. Beat on low-speed until just incorporated, about a minute. Place dough in an airtight container and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, but preferably over night.

4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or spray with non-stick spray. Place 1-tablespoon balls of dough on the prepared cookie sheet. Be sure to allow room for cookies to spread. Slightly press down on the cookies to flatten a bit.

5. Bake in preheated oven for 7-8 minutes or until just set. Let cool on cookie sheet for about 5 minutes then transfer to a wire cooling wrack until completely cooled. Store cookies in airtight container. Enjoy!

IMG_6976

Happy Baking!

One thought on “Just Keep Baking

  1. I made these cookies last weekend & they were a HUGE hit!! I opted to add the optional 1/2 c of flour & egg. As far as chocolate goes, I added dark chocolate chips & mashed up some mini Reese’s pb cups. I also chilled the dough overnight. I think I baked for 10 minutes and they came out perfect! Will definitely be making these again 🙂

Sweet Comments

